Poisons Board



The Poisons Board is established in pursuant to the provisions under the Poisons Act 1952 and serves to advise the Minister of Health of the followings:


  • Classification of new chemicals as Poison

  • Reclassification of poison in the Poisons List

  • Removal of poison from the Poisons List

  • Amendment of the psychotropic substances list in the Third Schedule

  • Addition or deletion of article or preparation in the Second Schedule


The Poisons Board usually convenes twice a year, in the middle and the end of the year, to discuss and evaluate the above and other related matters.




The Poisons Board consists of:




YBhg. Datuk Dr. Muhammad Radzi bin Abu Hassan

Director-General of Health

Ministry of Health Malaysia


Members (appointed by Minister of Health)


1.   Pn. Norhaliza binti A Halim
       Senior Director of Pharmaceutical Services


2.   Dr. Sharmilah a/p Kuppusami
      Department of Chemistry Malaysia


3.   Pn. Hafizah binti Mohd
      Department of Agriculture Malaysia


4.   Dr. Akma binti Ngah Hamid

      Department of Veterinary Services


5.   Dr. Ashok Zachariah Philip
      Malaysia Medical Association


6.    Prof. Dato' Dr. Wan Mohamad Bin Wan Bebakar   
       Malaysian Medical Council


7.    Pn. Noor Yang Azwar binti Kamarudin
       Malaysian International Chamber of Commerce and Industry


8.    Dato' Tan Tian Meng
       The Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia


9.    En. Amirhamzah bin Karim

       Malay Chamber of Commerce Malaysia


10.  Dr. Siva Perumal
        Malaysian Associated Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry


11.  En. Tan Eng Joo
        Malaysian Pharmacists Society



En. Mohd Zawawi bin Abdullah
Deputy Director of Legal Branch
Pharmacy Enforcement Division